About Us \ Governing Council

The Federal College of Education Decree 4 of 1986 and Amendment Decree No 6 of 1993 establishing the Federal College of Education instituted the Governing Council thereby making that body, by law and in deed, the highest body in the policy-making machinery of the College. This was inaugurated on Tuesday, 23rd October 1990 with Alhaji S.A. Dawodu, a seasoned educationist, as the first Chairman of Council after which Alhaji Mohammed Shaaba Lafiagi assumed office as Chairman of Council in the Year 200. Engr. Numoprie Wills was the Chairman of the Council in the Year 2003. The current Chairman of Governing Council is Chief (Dr) Paul Olatunde Alabi.

The Council has direct responsibility for the prudent management of the finances and other resources of the College, for the approval of policy decisions in both academics and administrative matters. Consequently, there are sub-committees such as Appointment and Promotion Committee (A&P) and the Finance and General Purpose Committee (F&GPC) to facilitate effective functioning. These sub- committees deliberate on specific relevant administrative, academics and technical expertise essential for a balanced and informed body are fully represented in its membership.


Prof. Rufai Ahmed Alkali Pro-Chancellor Chairman
Prof. M.S. Audu Vice-Chancellor Member
Prof. Akim O. Osunde DVC (Acad) Member
Prof. M.A.T. Suleiman DVC (Admin) Member
Haj. Hauwa Usman Govt. Nominee Member
Dr. Bennet Chinyere Ameafule Govt. Nominee  
Mr. Abiodun Ejemai Govt. Nominee  
Alh. Abubakar Magaji Govt. Nominee  
Prof. Musa Galadima FUT Minna  
Prof. O. O. Morenikeji FUT Minna  
Dr. (Mrs.) Halima Shehu FUT Minna  
Dr. Abdulmajeed Ijaiya FUT Minna  
Dr Adamu M. Baba-Kutigi FUT Minna  
Dr. Amos Nmadu Kolo FUT Minna  
M.D Usman Registrar Secretary
In Attendance
Mr. M. A. Bello Bursar  

Chief (Dr) Paul Olatunde Alabi Chairman
Chief A. Ayo Peters Member
Rev. (Mrs) Grace Ekanem Member
Dr. T. A. G. Oladimeji Provost
Sir Jonathan Chuks Achume Member
Mr. Marins Ubigen Member
Engr. S. O. Kehinde MNSE Member
Dr. S. O. Olusanya Member
Mr. K. O. Eyetsemitan Member
Mr. O. Ashiloku Member
Mr. H. O. Otoighile Secretary/Registrar


FCET Akoka in the News

See All News

Stay Connected